Did you know that Brianna’s Law in New York State law mandates that motor boat operators regardless of age will need a boating safety certificate by 2025? Who needs a boating safety certificate?
Under Brianna’s Law all motor boat operators:
· Born on or after Jan. 1, 1993 will need a boating safety certificate beginning in 2020.
· Born on or after Jan. 1, 1988 will need a boating safety certificate beginning in 2022.
· Born on or after Jan. 1, 1983 will need a boating safety certificate beginning in 2023.
· Born on or after Jan. 1, 1978 will need a boating safety certificate beginning in 2024.
· All motor boat operators regardless of age will need a boating safety certificate by January 1, 2025.
BOAT AMERICA is a boating certificate class that offers an in-depth and interesting boating safety course, and provides the knowledge needed to obtain a boating certificate. This eight-hour course is for all boaters, beginning at the age of 10.
The course has been approved by the National Association of State Boating Law Administrators, and is accepted by New York State to meet the boating safety certification requirements.
Some insurance companies will also offer discounts on boating insurance to boaters who successfully complete this course.
Introduction to Boating – Types of power boats, boating vocabulary, sailboats, paddle boats, powering boats, and engine types.
Boating Law – Boat registration, regulations, hull identification numbers, required safety equipment, Federal boating law, state boating law, and reporting accidents.
Safety Equipment – Life jackets, fire extinguishers, sound-producing devices, visual distress signals, anchors, and other safety equipment.
Safe Operation and Navigation – Buoys and beacons, aids to navigation, navigation rules, docking, and the dangers of alcohol on the water.
Boating Emergencies – Hypothermia, boating accidents, man overboard, capsizing, emergency radio calls, carbon monoxide dangers, and weather.
Trailering – Types of trailers, lights, hitches, towing a trailer.
Sports and Boating – Water-skiing, hunting and hunting gear, PWC operation, and other boating tips.
This class is being taught at Oak Orchard Yacht Club August 23, 24, 25 from 6:00 – 9:00 pm by certified Coast Guard Auxiliary Public Education Instructors. Attendance at all 3 sessions is required.
The class limit will be 20 students. Class fee for 1 person is $25.00; if there are multiple people attending in the same family the cost will be $20.00 per person. This fee is payable as cash or check (payable to Flotilla 4-8) the first day of class. The cost includes textbook, examination and official completion certificate.
A closed book examination will be given the last day of class. Individuals who successfully complete the course and exam are awarded certificates and cards. This NASBLA approved course qualifies participants for their New York State Boating Certificate. The New York State Boating Certificate and card will be required for all operators of motorized vessels by 2025.
Reservations are required. Please send reservations or questions to firstname.lastname@example.org